Strong Start to Breitling Racing Team’s Red Bull Air Race Championship Campaign

Posted on: 18th Feb 2015

Strong Start to Breitling Racing Team’s Red Bull Air Race Championship Campaign


The two Breitling Racing Team pilots, Nigel Lamb and François Le Vot impressed the crowds lining the Abu Dhabi Corniche with fast, clean flying ensuring a solid start to the racing calendar. Nigel was on top flying form and was amongst those setting the fastest track times. Unfortunately, during the pre-race weighing process Nigel’s “spats” (aerodynamic wheel covers) were damaged and had to be removed, dramatically affecting the speed of the aircraft. Despite this setback Nigel still managed to cruise into 5th place taking 4 valuable World Championship points, the same position as after the UAE race in 2014.


François Le Vot’s smooth and penalty-free performance also paid off, as he beat both American pilots and the other new pilot Juan Velarde to finish in a respectable 11th place.


Both pilots feel very confident going into the next round in Chiba, Japan May 16 - 17th and are posed to move up the World Championship standing


In the Challenger Class Mika Brageot brought the Breitling Racing Team podium success with an impressive 3rd position, just behind Christian Bolton and Petr Kopfstein. 


Nigel comments:

“During the short off-season, we changed the aircraft setup and added a modification package. You have to try and make improvements …  if you standstill, you move backwards as the other teams evolve.

In general, our strategy during the training days wasn’t 100% and reverting back to the 2014 handling setup just before Quali day was, in hindsight, one day too late.  But, it was a smart team move and today I felt really on top of my game.  The first round went incredibly well but disaster struck when our wheel spats were damaged (not by our team!) in the weighing process and had to be removed. The performance degradation is immense so, to post the fifth fastest time despite the enormous extra drag, makes us all feel almost like we were on the podium. We’re back on track! Roll on Chiba!”



Results: 1. Paul Bonhomme (GBR), 2. Matt Hall (AUS), 3. Pete McLeod (CAN), 4. Hannes Arch (AUT), 5. Nigel Lamb (GBR), 6. Yoshihide Muroya (JPN), 7. Peter Besenyei (HUN), 8. Nicolas Ivanoff (FRA), 9.Matthias Dolderer (GER), 10. Martin Sonka (CZE). 11. Francois Le Vot (FRA), 12. Michael Goulian (USA), 13. Juan Velarde (ESP), 14. Kirby Chambliss (USA)